I have a crush….

Posted: March 23, 2011 in Gear

…on Boxee Box. Yes I know it’s a little wrong to have a crush on a piece of tech but I do. I have played with the Boxee OS on my computer and generally like it ok, not exactly pretty and a little cumbersome but the features are really cool. (Why does this feel like the “she’s got great personality speach”). Boxee has some incredible local media abilities, it can read just about every file type on the planet, even .ISO. This is a huge feature seeing how I am completely obsessed with taking my entire DVD collection digital in the future. Another feature that is really awesome is it has an app that will go out to the internet and “grab” streaming tv from sites like ABC.com, CBS.com, etc… and stream them through the program. You never have to leave the boxee OS if you don’t want too, it even has its own web browser that will play flash if nothing else works for you. What made me go from the boxee is cool to full blown crush is the fact that someone developed an app to stream ESPN3. Not a must for most tech people out there but it was an awesome addition for me. I still haven’t decided if I’m going to ask the boxee box to be apart of my life yet, at $200, it’s a little more than I want to spend on a box that may or may not do everything I need it to do.

Maybe Boxee could send me one so I could fall head over heels for it

@JacobIngalls

Twitter Links
@boxee

Leave a Reply

