In Order of Obsolescence

Posted: March 25, 2011 in Ramblings

I had sometime to kill yesterday so I swung through our neighborhood Hasting’s to see what new DVD’s and books had come out. While I was walking around I realized how odd it felt, I buy 90+% of all my books off amazon, I use Netflix, Hulu and Amazon VOD for my media content and iTunes for my music. Then it really hit me, the internet has completely made everything about that store obsolete for me (except for the coffee and internet cafe’). I can get pretty much everything that Hastings and similar stores have to offer online. Amazon, even gives me an app to scan bar codes just so I can see if I can buy something cheaper on there, which for tech items is almost always true. I find that the only reason I go into Best Buy anymore is just so I can see/touch something before I order it on amazon. While I know there will always be a place for stores such as Best Buy and Hasting’s for people who aren’t tech oriented and for the people who just need something right now, but for me and a lot of people like me, these stores serve really only 1 purpose and that is to kill time

@JacobIngalls

Comments
  1. Bryan says:

    I think that you have a good point about going to a store to actually touch whatever it is your going to buy before buying it. There is something about getting to physically handle an item that is so inherently human. Great post!

Leave a Reply

