Is Blu-ray already outdated?

Posted: April 4, 2011 in Gear, Ramblings
Tags: , , , , , ,

While I’ve always wanted a Blu-ray player, but I don’t know if I’ll ever buy one. With the coming onslaught of streaming media I don’t think I’ll ever need one, unless every ISP starts capping bandwidth. On my Roku I get Netflix in HD, Hulu+ in HD, Amazon VOD (including Prime Streaming) in HD, MLB.tv in HD, I think you get the picture, I get everything I need in HD. Even if you look at a lot of the current Blu-ray advertising it doesn’t focus on actually playing  Blu-ray discs, it focuses on being able to stream Netflix, Pandora and YouTube and at least 1 movie downloading service. It appears that even Blu-ray player manufactures are establishing their players to be able to be useful even after no one puts disks in them anymore. Is physical media dieing? Yes. Is it dieing a lot faster than I thought it would? Absolutely.

@JacobIngalls

Comments
  1. Bryan says:

    As an owner of a blu-ray player, I really don’t use it that much. Nine times out of ten, I end up using Netflix to watch movies. The convenience of having sometime at your fingertips versus having to go out and rent something is a no-brainer. I’m not sure how I feel towards the loss of physical media. Especially in regards to gaming. Recently, Electronic Arts banned a player from a game due to what he had said on their official forums. The guy had bought the game, it was legally his, and yet EA decided to ban him from HIS content due to something unrelated. Insane. The digital frontier certainly has its drawbacks.

Leave a Reply

