Review: Mophie Juice Pack Plus

Posted: May 26, 2011 in Gear

Before I set out for my 2 week road trip I picked up the Mophie Juice Pack for my iPhone 4 mainly for the week I would be at Disney. The Mophie is a case for the iPhone that is also a battery pack which depending on how much you pay will give you X amount of extra hours of use.

Pros:

The Mophie I got would (depending on how much I used it while It was charging) give me a full charge on my phone if not a charge and a half. I never had to worry about running out of battery while I was at Disney, I could take and post pictures, text, surf and tweet all day and never have to worry about my phone running out of battery. Whenever the battery would get low I would just flip the “on” switch on the case and my phone would start to charge. The case always has a charge indicator on the bottom of it so you can always know how much power is left in the extra battery. With this case on, even in the bright Florida sun I could keep my iPhone’s brightness up to see the phone clearly all day. Also, you do not have to remove your iPhone from the case to charge it, the case is designed to charge yourself and your iPhone at the same time.

Cons:

This case is big and heavy, it effectively doubles the thickness of the phone and the weight of the phone, imagine an otter box but heavier. Your hand will get tired if you are using your iPhone a lot when this case is on. I would take it off from time to time just to get rid of the extra weight. The Mophie also adds about a 1/8 of an inch to the bottom of the phone which means you have to relearn to type with it on because of the extra distance your thumb has to move. The battery on this case takes a long time to charge and if you’re charging your iPhone inside the case it’ll take a solid 6 hours or so to charge both of them fully.

Overall:

This is a really good, solid product and the benefits really outweigh the draw backs to it. If you are a heavy user of your iPhone and are tired of having to do everything to save power, this is a must buy. If you’re a casual user who is foreseeing a trip with limited charging opportunities I would also highly recommend this case. The Mophie will be in my bag everytime I travel from here on out

@jacobingalls

Leave a Reply

